Pinterest mom, disshelved stepmom

It’s been months since I have posted anything. The fall is a particularly busy time both at work and at home. Keeping afloat is about all I can handle during the months of September and October. We have two birthdays, Halloween and two of my biggest work events of the year. However, now that I have resurfaced from some of that, I needed to process some of my thoughts, and I figured blogging about them would help.

First, a confession. I am a Pinterest mom. Yes, I am one of those dreaded mothers who look up copious ways to turn fruit into cute animal shapes. I make my kids’ Halloween costumes. I overdo kid birthday parties. I use pipe cleaners in strange and unusual crafty ways.

But lately that has made for a bit of a crisis of conscious. It is easy to do those things for one child. It is a bit of a monumental task to do those things when you have six children. Now instead of sewing one costume, I am working on three. I barely recovered from The October birthday and it was already time for the November party. End of the year teacher gifts take far more money and more time than I had intended to invest.

I am not really sure what the solution is. I am not quite ready to give it all up entirely and yet it does seem a bit unfair to be willing to do those things for Justin but not for the others. So, I need to find some happy medium. I guess I really need to focus on which “mom tasks” require the homemade touch, and I need to be okay with now and then buying the birthday cake or Halloween costume. Either that or I need a clone!

About bradybonusmom

I recently combined my family (me and my 7-yr old son) with another family (dad and five kids). Needless to say, this has thrown us into a whole new world. We look a lot like the Brady Bunch - except we don't have an Alice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

