Your tooth fairy or mine

There are so many challenges that come with blended families that are obvious and anticipated and then there are those that sneak up on us. Last night we bumped into yet another one of those.

Both my bio son and my bonus son lost teeth on the same day. What are the odds of that?! How could that possibly present a problem? Well, once we tucked in the boys, my husband and I plotted the visit of the tooth fairy. Here is where we hit some unchartered territory.

My husband’s tooth fairy always gave the children a $2 bill. Whereas the tooth fairy at our previous house gave my son two $1 bills that were covered in fairy dust (aka glitter.) I am sure it seems to the casual observer that this is minor difference, but to us the very tenants of childhood seemed to rest on this moment. What if doing the wrong thing caused one boy (or both) to lose belief in the tooth fairy. And we all know that once the tooth fairy is in question, Santa cannot be far behind.

After much discussion, I swayed my husband to try the “to each his own ” approach. My theory was that we could make the claim that there is more than one tooth fairy and that fairies are assigned to a child – not a household. So, clearly Justin and Landon must have been assigned to different fairies.

So one boy got glitter and the other got a $2 bill, and do you know what happened this morning? Nothing! The boys did not compare at all. Apparently, we stewed over it for nothing. Guess that in itself was a valuable lesson to learn.

About bradybonusmom

I recently combined my family (me and my 7-yr old son) with another family (dad and five kids). Needless to say, this has thrown us into a whole new world. We look a lot like the Brady Bunch - except we don't have an Alice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Your tooth fairy or mine

  1. Stephanie says:

    Isn’t it funny, I tend to overthink things as a stepmother too only to realise later I had no need to worry! It is lovely that your children felt no need to compare.

Leave a Reply

