Step away from the radio

My husband’s ex has recently self-published a book. The subtitle of her book is something along the lines of “putting life together again after divorce.” She is now in the process of promoting said book. Much of the promotion involves blog radio interviews – which she then posts on Facebook. And shares them with me.

I must admit this is the most bizarre experience yet. I can appreciate that it is best for the kids if we get along, but this might be the height of over-sharing. Probably if I were a bigger person, I should just fly by the link and not give it another thought, but I must admit I was curious.

I listened to the first interview and it was absolutely the most bizarre experience. She talked about her husband, now my husband, for the first 10 minutes or so. It was almost an out-of-body experience. I kept thinking, “She can’t possibly be talking about the same man.” She didn’t say horrible things. In fact, she called him “a good man” but it was still odd.

Things got stranger from there.The next 10 minutes or so were spent with her talking about the new woman in her husband and her kids’ lives. In complete fairness, it was the radio show host’s fault. She asked a number of questions like, “How did it feel when your husband remarried?” “Does is bother you that there is now another woman giving your kids morality lessons and treating their boo boos?” ¬†Hearing people talk about me as some sort of “other woman” figure was so odd. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to hear her answers or not. I know I was bothered that she was even asked the questions. She chose to leave. My husband didn’t want the divorce. I came along three years later. And I certainly did not want to be a character in her book.

I do know that in hindsight it would probably have been better if I had not listened to that interview. It was awkward and uncomfortable and felt somewhat invasive.But part of me is glad to know what was in it. My bonus kids have access to her Facebook account and that interview. Our joint friends have access to that interview. I am not sure what she is hoping to accomplish with the writing of the book, but I sure hope that it is an accurate portrayal of my now spouse and that is doesn’t hurt our kids.

I think it is healthiest if I don’t read the book, but I must admit the curiosity is killing me

About bradybonusmom

I recently combined my family (me and my 7-yr old son) with another family (dad and five kids). Needless to say, this has thrown us into a whole new world. We look a lot like the Brady Bunch - except we don't have an Alice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Step away from the radio

  1. kfinchgnehm says:

    Kind of surprised there’s a market for one more of these books not written by one of the Kardashians. You had to do it – you have to know what the kids hear – but I admire your strength. Also, maybe read the first and last chapters but not the middle stuff?

Leave a Reply

