Did you know that when you married him?

I recently ran into a woman that we see at church but who we don’t really “know.” She told me it was lovely to see our family each weekend. Then she asked me how many kids we have. “You have a bunch don’t you? What is it three or four?” To which I replied, “No, actually we have six.” That was meant with a completely befuddled look. So, I followed with, “We are a blended family.” She then asked, “How many of them were yours?” And I responded, “One.” She countered with “No, before you were married, how many of the kids were yours?” Again, I told her one.

Here’s where it gets good. She then asked me, “Did you know that when you married him?” Some people of course say such things jokingly, but she was completely serious. I didn’t even know how to respond. I was tempted to answer with, “Well, he did tell me about TWO of them.” I just love the visual image – we arrive home from the honeymoon to find five complete strangers sitting in the loving room. “Who are you? Honey, why didn’t you mention you had five kids? How did this not come up in the two years we dated?”

Yes, I knew about the five kids. Yes, I married him anyway. I love him. He’s so worth it. Yes, it is much harder than I ever imagined it would be. Yes, I was probably drunk on love and not thinking clearly before we married. Yes, they are great kids, and it is also a colossal amount of work, time, energy, noise, chaos and clutter. But again I say, I love him and he is worth it.

About bradybonusmom

I recently combined my family (me and my 7-yr old son) with another family (dad and five kids). Needless to say, this has thrown us into a whole new world. We look a lot like the Brady Bunch - except we don't have an Alice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

