The ups and downs of a typical week

I think I may have put my finger on one of the aspects of our blended family life that is a bit on the challenging side. My husband, having grown up as one of four kids and having fathered five, is most comfortable with tons of people around and a high level of volume and chaos. He may be at his happiest when there are six kids in the house – plus a couple or neighbor kids – all running in and out with some playing the piano and others laughing and shouting and still others talking about their days. I was one of two kids in my family of origin and I was mother to one. So, I am probably most comfortable when three or four of us are sitting around having a conversation, discussing the events of the day. And I love to have people over and entertain. I really do! Anyone who knows me knows that to be true, but I like to PLAN events, games nights, dinner parties – with some advance notice and time to shop and prepare. The two styles are very different. What we have now is half the week when my husband is very comfortable and in his element, and half the week when I am very comfortable. But, that also means that while my husband is very comfortable and in his element (when all the kids are here and there is tons of noise and chaos) I am very tense and uncomfortable. When the kids go back to their mom’s and our house gets very calm and quiet, I relax and lose the tension, but about that time my husband gets very uncomfortable. It is TOO quiet for him and he gets slightly out of sorts. I suppose it is a good thing that we are not both uncomfortable at the same time, but it also means that we are almost never both relaxed and comfortable at the same time. Hoping we can find a happy medium, and I suppose that usually happens on those rare occasions when two or three of the kids have an event or commitment and we have about three or four at home. I guess for now I will just hope that my husband gets used to the quiet and I get used to the chaos.

About bradybonusmom

I recently combined my family (me and my 7-yr old son) with another family (dad and five kids). Needless to say, this has thrown us into a whole new world. We look a lot like the Brady Bunch - except we don't have an Alice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

