Holidays, Rituals and Traditions

Now, I know that all parents probably feel some pressure when it comes to holidays – you want to make everything perfect for your kids – Norman Rockwell, Better Crocker and Bill Cosby all rolled into one, but I do think that holidays in a blended family are a whole special kind of torture, and as we approach Easter, I am once again reminded of these distinct challenges.

Last year was our first Easter as a blended family, and though I knew that Christmas was going to be a delicate and dangerous ground, it had never before dawned on me that Easter might be as fragile as a Faberge egg.

Now in my family (both the family I was raised in and the first family I started) the Easter bunny hid eggs. The kids also received Easter baskets BUT those were always left on the dining room table – in plain sight. In my husband’s family (both the family he was raised in and the first family he started) the Easter bunny hid Easter BASKETS. The kids spent the morning trying to find them. Since he brought five kids in to this new blended family and I brought in one, we hid baskets. It turned out to not be such a big deal. My little Justin thought it a little odd, but truth be told though he did not remember ever before searching for his basket, he could not say for certain that he hadn’t.

This year, it turns out that the starting five will be with their mom and Justin will be with us. But we will still be hiding J’s Easter basket because the kids WILL compare notes. Last year, the kids all got art supplies, books and other non-candy items, as well as some candy.  Tonight Landon and Justin were talking and Justin asked Landon, “Do you think we will be getting white chocolate bunnies in our baskets again this year?” Landon said, Of course we will. The Easter bunny knows what we like.” Guess I had better get on the email to the other Easter bunny and make sure that white chocolate bunny is on the list over there. Heaven forbid the Justin gets one and Landon does not.

About bradybonusmom

I recently combined my family (me and my 7-yr old son) with another family (dad and five kids). Needless to say, this has thrown us into a whole new world. We look a lot like the Brady Bunch - except we don't have an Alice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holidays, Rituals and Traditions

  1. kfinchgnehm says:

    It’s so amazingly complicated. I never would have thought Easter traditions would have mattered as much either, but it just shows how closely kids pay attention. Lovely piece.

Leave a Reply

