Can you guess the bio family

Recently we all got away together – yes all of us. We headed to a water park about three hours from home. On the way there we stopped at a Subway Sandwich shop for a quick lunch. The employees there seemed fascinated and could not keep their eyes off of us.

I was beginning to wonder if one of the kids had forgotten to wear pants when the lady behind the counter finally asked, “Are you all one family?” Ah yes, that question. You get it a lot when you travel in a group of eight. Then there is always that awkward moment as I decide how to answer it. What are they looking for here? I answered yes, but then confessed that we were a blended family.

As we ate, we could hear them behind the counter trying to figure out which parents went with which kids. They guessed all manners of combinations (none of them right) and never actually surmised that five of the kids came with my husband and only one boy was “mine.” It was actually a great deal of fun to sit at the table and think about it ourselves. They might have guessed that the one with green eyes is mine (he isn’t) or the three with the blonder hair had been mine and the three with the darker hair had been my husbands.

I suspect many people guess. In fact, my oldest bonus daughter and I have been told we have the same smile. Many people assume she is mine. She is gorgeous. I’ll take that as a compliment. And who knows, after some years perhaps we will all look more like each other. After all, if dogs start to resemble their owners, then certainly kids and bonus parents must have at least that affect on each other.

Harmon Ferry Bunch

About bradybonusmom

I recently combined my family (me and my 7-yr old son) with another family (dad and five kids). Needless to say, this has thrown us into a whole new world. We look a lot like the Brady Bunch - except we don't have an Alice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Can you guess the bio family

  1. kfinchgnehm says:

    Amazing. Fortunately, all of your children are adorable.

  2. Cara Marie says:

    I love that you call them “bonus” instead of “step”. Genius.

Leave a Reply

