Teenagers are funny animals

My husband and I arrived back from a long jog. Upon entering our room, I saw a handwritten note and a small piece of jewelry on my bed. I looked at my husband and he just shrugged and said, “wasn’t me.” The note was from our 14-year old Kurstin and went something like this, “I have heard from some sources that you think I don’t like you and I just wanted to let you know that it isn’t true. I am glad you are with my dad and that you live with us. Here is a little present for you.” I said to my spouse, “Honey, where did she get that idea. I never said anything like that to her or around her. In fact, I’m not even sure I think that is true.” To which he responded, “She may have gotten that idea from me.” “What?!” I said.

He went on to explain to me that when he was helping her set up something in her room the other day, he mentioned that I had seen nearly all of the gifts I had ever given her unopened, in a tidy pile. And that is true. Now, I suppose it is possible that that was simply her organization style, but I have trouble believing that art supplies, socks and perfume had much in common – other than the fact that they came from me. So, yes, when I noticed the pile I suppose it did sting a bit, but I am not sure I fully attributed it to her not liking me. I suppose at least some part of me was adult enough to recognize that it could be because I am not reading her as well as I though,t and that the gifts I am selecting aren’t hitting the mark. So, I read the note again feeling a bit bad that there may have been at least a kernel of truth in her words.

About an hour later we decided to go on a walk as a family. Kurstin showed up ready for the hike completely decked out in clothes I had given her – right down to the socks – and smothered in the perfume  bought.  I am half surprised she did not have the art supplies sticking out of her pockets or taped to her in some way.

Now it just may be that she did not remember she had all these items until she unearthed the pile. Or maybe her dad reached her in a soft spot in her heart. Either way, I’d like to think it was a good day for me and Kurstin. One thing I do know – I’d better find a way to work that piece of jewelry into my outfit tomorrow. I’d hate to have her thinking I didn’t appreciate the gift.

About bradybonusmom

I recently combined my family (me and my 7-yr old son) with another family (dad and five kids). Needless to say, this has thrown us into a whole new world. We look a lot like the Brady Bunch - except we don't have an Alice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Teenagers are funny animals

  1. That is a really nice story. I still don’t see how anyone could not love having you as a back-up mom, but a performance like that requires huge effort and forethought from a 14-year-old. Go you.

  2. Tara Muck says:

    Oh my goodness your stories sound so familiar to me. That does require huge effort from a 14 year old girl to do that.

Leave a Reply

