A moment worth savoring

So for the past few weeks now, my husband has been involved in rehearsing for a musical. He is serving as the musical director and rehearsals started about two weeks after we moved into the house. Four of our six kids are also involved in the show. So, this is a great opportunity for him to create some terrific memories with those four.

If you’ve done your math, you also realize that this leaves me with two of my bonus kids each and every weeknight (sometimes more if not all cast members are needed at a rehearsal.) And since my love gets home after bedtime, I get to tuck in the littlest one. I do my best to follow the routine created by their father. We read some books together, we say the “now I lay me down to sleep” prayer and then we close it with asking Addy to say her “God blesses” and what she is most thankful for. Usually, she has a string that goes something like “God bless Mommy, God bless Daddy, God bless Julia and Kurstin and Taylor and Landon and Justin.”

But Tuesday when I tucked her in, we said our prayers and then she said, “God bless Mommy, God bless Debbie, God bless Daddy…” Yep. There it was – me – I made the list and right in there with the biggies. And it sounded very natural. So on those days when it is tough, and when I start wondering if we will ever really feel like ONE family, I will just remember that moment and maybe stand just a little bit taller and feel just a little bit more hopeful.

About bradybonusmom

I recently combined my family (me and my 7-yr old son) with another family (dad and five kids). Needless to say, this has thrown us into a whole new world. We look a lot like the Brady Bunch - except we don't have an Alice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A moment worth savoring

  1. MediaMomPhD says:

    You made me cry! 🙂

  2. kfinchgnehm says:

    That is lovely and deserved. Plus I know a lot of other people who give thanks for you in their prayers.

  3. Catherine says:

    Awwwwwwwwwwww

Leave a Reply

