Can the dinner conversation get any weirder

I realized most of my posts have been too depressing lately, so I thought I should share some of the moments that actually cause chuckles around here. One of them happened at dinner this week. My honey was off and rehearsal and my little boy was at his dad’s. So it was just me and my bonus five.

I believe the conversation started something like this…
“Debbie, if you died would Justin still live with us” I thought for a moment and replied “well actually, if I died, Justin would go live with his dad.” There was a very brief pause when another one of the bonus kids chimed in with “What if both you and Justin’s dad died? Then would he live with us?” Now this got me thinking. I truthfully told them that at the moment there was some very old paperwork in place stating that if Justin’s dad and I both died, Justin would go live with one of my coworkers and her family. But I did tell them that Justin’s dad and I were rarely ever in the same place at the same time and the chances of us both dying at the same time were very slim. This was followed up with the youngest one asking, “If our dad died, would we still live with you?” I told them that No, if their dad died, they would live with their mom, but they could still see me whenever they wanted. And I should have seen it coming, but the very next question was “What if mom and dad both died, then would we live with you?” Again, I tried to make clear the idea that the chances of both of their parents dying at the same time were virtually zero. But the middle child not to be dissuaded went with “What if dad got cancer and mom died in a car accident at the same time, then would we live with you?” I was stumped. I finally went with, “Great question. I’ll have to talk to your dad about that.” Definitely more bizarre dinner conversation than I am used to, but things got even more interesting a few nights later.

Justin returned home after a few days with his dad – mind you having missed the above conversation – and as we all sat down to dinner, the youngest opened up with “If you and Justin’s dad and your coworker all die at the same time, can we keep Justin?” To which Justin replied, “You are dying?!” Ah, never a dull moment.

About bradybonusmom

I recently combined my family (me and my 7-yr old son) with another family (dad and five kids). Needless to say, this has thrown us into a whole new world. We look a lot like the Brady Bunch - except we don't have an Alice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Can the dinner conversation get any weirder

Leave a Reply

