Bonus dad needs a break

I spent much of the day out of the house. I had a 2-hour event at the local charity where I volunteer. And it was followed by a coffee date with my bonus kids’ bio mom. So, my husband had five hours with all the kids to himself. Poor thing finally had a chance to experience some real blended family challenges all his own. Though he brought into the family five to my one, my one can be a real handful. He is imaginative and creative and very, very stubborn. And I guess he chose today to take a stand. The bad news is that my husband and Justin clashed in a monumental battle of the wills. The good news is that both survived, and according to all reports, my husband handed out discipline in exactly the same way I would have.  We knew these moments would come eventually, and I can only hope that over the long haul, this will strengthen their connection. I feel terrible about not being here for Justin’s tantrum, but I am pleased that all my bonus kids, who had thought Justin was getting special treatment, were there to see the discipline doled out. Maybe this was an opportunity in disguise.

About bradybonusmom

I recently combined my family (me and my 7-yr old son) with another family (dad and five kids). Needless to say, this has thrown us into a whole new world. We look a lot like the Brady Bunch - except we don't have an Alice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

