I’ve reached an all time low

SO having had a particularly rough stepparent week, I approached my boss and asked her if I could leave work a bit early. I explained that Tuesdays are the only day of the week that we have no kids, that I haven’t been sleeping much and that I could really use an hour or two to rest. She graciously agreed.

So, I headed home a bit early, feeling slightly guilty about how happy I was to be going home to no one, but not so guilty that it dampened my joy. I was exhausted – mentally and physically – and I just knew that about 60 minutes of peace and quiet would result in a whole new me ( or perhaps more accurately the old me.) I sat on the couch and had just turned on the TV looking for something slightly comedic and perhaps a little mindless, when I thought I heard a noise. I turned off the TV to get a better listen. Yes, definitely a noise, but where and what? Just then I heard keys in the door. I panicked. Without a lot of thought I headed for my bedroom. Mere moments later I realized I was not in fact being robbed, but in fact it was all of my stepkids and their bio mom.

Apparently, they had forgotten a few things and also wanted to show her changes to their rooms, so they swung by. But the bigger problem at this point was that I was now hiding in my closet and should I suddenly emerge, I am really not sure which of us would have been more shocked or frightened. So there I waited. and waited. and waited. Trying to be as quiet as I could since discovering each other after they had been in the house for a full 15 minutes would have been so much more awkward than discovering each other in the first minute or two. So, here I sat, a 40 year old woman – self-assured, accomplished, bright, charming – and yet hiding in my own closet for half an hour. I believe I have reached an all time low, or perhaps I hope I have, I’d certainly hate to get lower than that.

About bradybonusmom

I recently combined my family (me and my 7-yr old son) with another family (dad and five kids). Needless to say, this has thrown us into a whole new world. We look a lot like the Brady Bunch - except we don't have an Alice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’ve reached an all time low

  1. Anna says:

    I am dying over here. Rock on Debbie. By the way, we’d love to see pics of the house.
    Lots of love-Anna

  2. I find it very hard to believe that you would not be a perfect mom to anyone who entered your household. But I really love being able to read about your struggles and triumphs! Keep the posts coming!

  3. Tara Muck says:

    That is hillarious!!!

  4. Kristin says:

    You should have napped in the closet.

Leave a Reply

