Silence is golden

I am a people person – always have been. Yep. Every test I’ve ever taken has confirmed the fact that I am an extrovert. That said, apparently even extroverts have their limits.

Somehow I find that now that I live in a home with six kids, I relish the moments when the world seems absolutely silent. It is exceedingly rare to find a time when the XBOX is off, so is the TV and the ipods, no one is yelling “Dad!” or “Mom!,” there is neither fighting, arguing or crying of any kind.

The moments are rare indeed, but somehow that makes them precious. I’ve never been one for alone time or silence before, but suddenly, I see its value.

 

About bradybonusmom

I recently combined my family (me and my 7-yr old son) with another family (dad and five kids). Needless to say, this has thrown us into a whole new world. We look a lot like the Brady Bunch - except we don't have an Alice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Silence is golden

  1. Tara Muck says:

    It has so much value and you need this just to survive this crazy life style of so many kids. My sweetie knows if I don’t get mine, even if just him and I going to the store for an hour to do nothing, then I get very cranky. Needless to say, he honors those needs and desires that I require for quiet time. He is a smart man I suppose. Take your moments Debbie, they are well deserved! It will get better right? I keep telling myself that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

